Free Avalanche Awareness Training

Thu 18 October 07

Avalanche Awareness Training coming to Denver

Friends of Berthoud Pass will continue to provide high quality avalanche education for the 2007-2008 season. Halsted Morris, formerly the Colorado Avalanche Information Center’s Chief Instructor, and one of the most respected and experienced avalanche educators in North America, will provide backcountry travelers with an overview of avalanche awareness, avoidance, rescue and forecasting methods and skills. Topics such as route selection, hazard minimization, best practices, preparedness and terrain analysis will be covered in a 2½ hour classroom presentation. Our popular full-day On-snow Sessions at Berthoud Pass will follow in January 2008 for FOBP members.

Tue. Oct 23 Denver The Oriental Theater 7:00pm
Thur. Oct 25 Boulder CU Campus, EDUC #220 7:00pm
Wed. Nov. 7 Winter Park The Pub 7:00pm
Tue. Nov 13 Denver The Oriental Theater 7:00pm
Thu. Nov 15 Boulder CU Campus, ECCR #245 7:00pm
Tue. Dec 4 Summit County location tba 7:00pm
Wed. Dec 5 Winter Park The Pub 7:00pm

All sessions are free of charge and open to the public, however donations (cash or check) are greatly appreciated. Please be on time, we start promptly at 7:00pm and run until approximately 9:30pm. For parking information, course specifics or other questions, please contact us at:

fobp_info@yahoo.com or www.berthoudpass.org

Next Story

Posy Dixon and the X Games

Posy Dixon and the X Games

Mon 22 October 07

Posy Dixon gives us the low down on Winter X Games 12 Aspen Colorado

BEO 2008 Riders & Music acts announced

BEO 2008 Riders & Music acts announced

Thu 08 November 07, Laax, Switzerland

Shaun White, Chris Sörman, Crispin Lipscomb, and Brit Jenny Jones are confirmed with music by CunninLynguists at the Riders Palace.

Kickers to be removed in some Canadian resorts

Tue 13 November 07, Lake Louise, Canada

Apparently in a bid for our safety, Fernie, Kimberley, Lake Louise and other resorts are set to remove all kickers from their parks, but will improve their rail setups ...

Candadian Open Cancelled

Candadian Open Cancelled

Thu 15 November 07

current snow conditions prevent the construction of world-class halfpipe and slopestyle, so the event next month has been cancelled.

Snowsports back on 4

Snowsports back on 4

Thu 15 November 07

The 1st programme of the World Cup Skiing & Snowboarding on Channel 4 series starts this Sunday 18th November at 8am

Berthoud Pass, USA

“A nice little pleaser if you fancy a hike”

Advertisement