Mayrhofen

User rating 9 out of 10

Great Pistes, Great Place

Sat 8 January 2011 by The BOL

Mayrhofen is great and definitely has something for everyone. Don't spend too long at the Penken and get up on the TUXer150 lift as soon as possible. The runs up there mightn't be as challenging as some of the lower ones but its worth it for the views alone, it also tends to be relatively empty up there so if you love cruising from side to side on wide pistes then its the place to be. The 16 down back to the main area is also a good run for those comfortable on reds

For beginners the best runs are the 6 and the 8 as well as the blue runs at the Ahorn (a 2 minute walk up the road from the Penkenbahn). Definately go there for the morning on one of the days.

For intermediates and advanced there are an abundance of good reds but also take a day trip to the HIntertux.

Unfortunately there wasn't any fresh powder when we were there but we still did some good off piste, if you take the 150er TUX lift a 20 meter stroll and dip into the right, we took a guide and i'm happy that we did but I cant imagine its undoable for people who know what they;re doing.

If you are looking to rent snowboard gear thats a bit better than the usual places try the green room and take note of Funky's beside it which is, as the name suggests, a funky bar, very laid back and some great beers. For another place to get a nice drink without full on apres ski go to Mos.

Don't try the Mos challenge, which is to drink all cocktails on the daily menu. Its doable, but boarding the next day is not the usual pleasant experience

Anyone considering Mayrhofen, no matter what their level, should go.

 

User rating 10 out of 10

the best!

Mon 3 March 2008 by robin5

if you go here you have to check it all out mayrhofen, gerlos,zell am ziller,hintertux, kaltenbach, ahorn, hochfugen etc theres so much more than just the penkenbahn and its all interlinked on the one pass - thats lifts,busses and trains! penken's great theres some awesome freeriding to be had from some of the higher areas on both sides down to the vans park and a good way to start the day early after a fresh dump. the park itself is sublime - something for everyone and then some, the park shapers are alwas on hand making sure everything is in top condition, tunes pumping out over the speakers, high speed quad chair right on the park which goes over the pro line so you get to see some serious action from a birds eye view, or chill at the cafe next to the park and watch the action over a beer of coffee. there are lots of pros here from all corners of the globe and its a very friendly place too without the attitude or territorialness of some of the french resorts - everyones having a good time - god i love this place ha ha

 

User rating 8 out of 10

Too much to ride in 1 week

Mon 27 November 2006 by jat147

There really is that much terrain that you can ride different runs all week and still not see it all. A Zillertal valley superpass lets you ride the mayrhofen areas which are huge, but also the Hintertux glacier which has snow in summer, right through to Zell, Gerlos, Konigsleiten(sp?) and anywhere else you can reach. Truth is, if you want to ride it all, get a hire car because the busses are too random the further from Mayrhofen you get, but its really worth the extra expense. Lifts are fast, and queues are only bad on the Penkenbahn, which can be avoided. The Burton park is awesome with terrifying kickers the size of a house!  Apres is quality too with bars or hotel lounges to suit both ravers and chillers, if you're going to eat out avoid the obvious microwave cafes and get to a local Tirol style restaurant where the food is fantastic. A lot of people you meet are on repeat visits, speaks for itself. 

User rating 7 out of 10

Great Boarding....Dull resort!

Thu 28 September 2006 by Sally3

I learnt to board at this resort and the slopes were perfect for me as there was quite a lot for me to have a go at.The resort was very dissapointing and what we were told were the lively bars often ended up empty.

User rating 9 out of 10

Thu 13 October 2005 by ben9

great town and park, and with huntertux just down the road as well as innsbruck...it has an ideal location

User rating 9 out of 10

Excellent

Fri 29 April 2005 by Judd

This place is amazing, I have heard the problems with the lack of lifts up to the top but this is just coming from people who have not explored other options up. You can catch a very regular and free bus around the town and to the lifts and this gives you the option of NOT going up the Penken. The Horbergbahn is considerably quieter and can be the better option so as not to be clogged up once at the top, and it takes you closer to where the action is. Mayrhofen has an excellent park sponsored by Burton. Some great runs include the steepest run in Europe, the harikiri with an incline gradient of 79%! The Ahorns run down to the Ahornbahn is excellent, its a tree lined run with off piste capabilities. Its a quiet area as well which makes the run a good place to go even a day after powder-you can still get some fresh traks. I found some excellent off piste coming down from the 150er Tux-so much was untouched. The nightlife is endless with venues open until 7am. I would go back to this resort, it is excellent .

User rating 8 out of 10

February 2005

Thu 24 March 2005 by Speed Freak

Cute little town with just about all you need. Penken lift in the middle town is a pain, but early risers will not queue. The runs are serviced by a fantastic lift system. We only took 1 drag all week & that was to beat the snow cats. There is a 150 man Cable-Car which goes to a fairly flat a pointless part of the mountain. The 'Bowl' though is fantastic and can get very cold (-17C). Mostly reds and a few blacks are a cravers dream and Hari Kari (78%) will test the best. The park is ok though the park up the road at Hintertux is better. The ski pass includes Hintertux, Zell Am Ziller.

Beginners should go to Ahorn to the wide blue and progressive reds to carve. Off-Piste is as easy here. Zell Am Ziller is best, Mayrhofen has some nice tree tracks which you can stray from.

User rating 6 out of 10

Tue 9 March 2004 by WSG Steve

With only one gondala that everyone has to take to get up/down the mountain the queue can be a nightmare. The ice bars next to it though, so get a big bottle of groslch and join in with the beer spraying.

User rating 7 out of 10

Better than wsg5!

Thu 15 January 2004 by Richie9

I think this resort deserves a better WSG rating than 5. In recent years more lifts have been added and the resort boasts an excellent fun park attracting very good riders. With the extended lift system you can board right up to Egalm which is a stones throw away from the Hintertux glacier. Given the right conditions there is some exciting and fairly extreme free riding to be had.

User rating 5 out of 10

Mayrhofen

Thu 16 October 2003 by poostache

Not very good for immediate beginners, but if this is only your 2nd/3rd snowboarding trip then it's great. After that it's limited. Awesome apres ski though-you must visit THE Ice Bar!