The WSF World Rookie Champion is decided in Ischgl

Sun 19 April 09

Roope Tonteri became the 2009 WSF World Rookie Champion at the 4Star Protest World Rookie Finals in Ischgl, Austria.

The new crop of Swatch TTR talent fought to be crowned WSF World Rookie Champion this weekend at the 4Star Protest World Rookie Finals in Ischgl, Austria. Roope Tonteri stomped his way to first place and earned 500 TTR ranking points. Also on the line was a filming session with Pirate Movie Productions and a photo-shooting with Onboard Europe giving young riders the opportunity to step on stage and earn international recognition. Tonteri was closely followed by Kevin Backstrom (SWE) in second place and Eskil Korneliussen (NOR) in third. Michaela Davis-Meehan, the only Australian in the starting field, stood up to her female competitors and took home the win for the girls.

WRF 09 winner 2009 Roope Tonteri in Ischgl
WRF 09 winner 2009 Roope Tonteri in Ischgl
Photo: Armin Popp

Due to unfortunate weather conditions on Friday, qualifications and finals were held together on Saturday in a three-runs format. As the best two runs counted, the riders had to show a variety of tricks increasing the intensity of the event and ensuring the onlookers witnessed some amazing feats.

The springtime sun shone brightly upon the slushy course as the rookies stepped it up in front of a large end of season crowd. Klaus Marko had shaped the park which consisted of jumps from 8m to 20m, boxes, rails, and a wall ride, providing countless opportunities for the riders to get their shred on and showcase creativity.

WRF 09 rookie male podium 2009 in Ischgl
WRF 09 rookie male podium 2009 in Ischgl
Photo: Raggieleonora

“I am happy to be World Rookie Champion. The riding was good today and I am stoked that another Finnish rider is champion after Peetu Piiroinen won the TTR Tour this year.”, Tonteri said after he learned about his win. Tonteri who showed a good performance at TTR events all over the world this year moves into World No. 105 in the Swatch TTR World Rankings.


Some of the nicest tricks of the day were thrown down by Darek Bergmann (CZE) who finished in fifth with a run including a Frontside 7 with super nice Crail Grab, by Kevin Backstrom with a Frontside 1080 followed by a Tailbonk to 360 Out on the RedBull Obstacle and by Austrian shred talent Luca Schranz who surprised everyone with some one-footed action on the kinkrail and the following kicker. Props also have to go out to Teddy Koo (JAP), who took out the 2Star North Face Korean Rookie Fest and finished in fourth position today. Throughout the contest the level of riding was on professional standards and everyone will be watching as these newcomers erupt onto the Swatch TTR world stage in coming seasons.


Rank bib Name Surname Nat
1 24 Roope Tonteri FIN (won Filming with Pirate Movie Production – Onboard Shooting – Protest Surf Camp)
2 6 Kevin Backstrom SWE (won Onboard Shooting – Protest Surf Camp)
3 3 Eskil Korneliussen NOR (won Onboard Shooting)
4 14 Teddy Koo JPN (won Onboard Shooting)
5 22 Darek Bergmann CZE (won Onboard Shooting – Protest Surf Camp for best trick)
6 9 Adrian Krainer AUT
7 8 Zebastian Landmark SWE
8 31 Aljosa Krivec SLO
9 13 Luca Schranz AUT
10 11 Mathias Weissenbacher AUT
11 5 Rudi Oesterhus NOR
12 27 Naccari Ruggero ITA
13 20 Nuutti Niemela FIN
14 21 Petr Horak CZE
15 29 Nicola Dioli ITA
16 16 Yannick Imboden SUI
17 2 Mauro Bisol ITA
18 19 Samuel Kasper SUI
19 25 Vesa Mäkäräinen FIN
20 28 Giorgio Ciancaleoni ITA
21 17 Lars Bachmann SUI
22 30 Filiberto Piller Cottner ITA
23 4 Mark Raper GBR
dns 1 Johannes Handle AUT
dns 10 Thomas Tramnitz AUT
dns 15 Stefan Reichmuth SUI
dns 26 Davide Beltracch SUI

Rank bib Name Surname Nat
1 41 Michaela Davis-Meehan AUS (won Protest Surf Camp)
2 42 Arianna Sittoni ITA

Rank bib Name Surname Nat
1 50 Sven Thorgren SWE (won Onboard Shooting, filming with Aesthetiker, Goldet Ticket to every Rookie Fests 2010)
2 57 Martin Mikyska CZE
3 56 Leandro Eigensatz SUI
4 61 Tim-Kevin Ravnjak SLO
5 58 Ondrej Porkert CZE
6 51 Lewis Courtier-Jones GBR
7 60 GianMarco Maiocco ITA
8 52 Thomas Hunt GBR
9 54 Lucien Koch SUI
10 59 Daniel Porkert CZE
11 53 Roland Tschoder AUT
12 55 Yannick Hertmann SUI

Rank bib Name Surname Nat
1 72 Maria Maiocco ITA (won Golden Ticket to every Rookie Fests 2010)
2 71 Diana Augustinova CZE

Next Story

Scottish snowboard instructor dies in avalanche

Fri 08 May 09, Kaunertal, Austria

Tragic news as Keith McIntosh, an instructor for McNab Snowsports, has died in an avalanche whilst on the UK snowboard test in Kaunertal in Austria on 5th May

Dan Wakeham announces retirement

Dan Wakeham announces retirement

Tue 19 May 09

The first British male snowboarder to compete at the Winter Olympic Games, has announced his retirement from World Cup snowboarding

Mammoths spring pipe opens

Tue 19 May 09, Mammoth Mountain, USA

Located above McCoy Station at an elevation of 10,000 feet, the new halfpipe boasts 22-foot tall walls and measures 400+ feet in length

Current snow conditions update

Tue 19 May 09, Kaprun, Austria

Less than 30 European resorts are still open for business this season and a handfull of N.American ones, and a lull between between the summer glaciers and the Southern Hemisphere resorts

British Snow Tour Announces 2009 line-up

British Snow Tour Announces 2009 line-up

Wed 20 May 09, XSCAPE Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Over 130 British Championship medals are up for grabs along with prestigious TTR World Ranking points and a credit crunch-busting combined prize purse of over £20,000