Avoriaz

User rating 8 out of 10

Stay in Morzine... or somewhere else...

Thu 10 February 2011 by _BigTone

...and still ride awesome terrain around Avoriaz.

Without a doubt some of the best freeriding terrain I've come across and with the massive all area Portes du Soleil pass you can get about with ease (just be careful on getting back - although the lifties are cool about getting you on after closing).

Snow parks (yes plural) are 2nd to none. If all you do is ride park - come here. If you want to off-piste - come here. If you like tearing up groomers - come here too.

Avoriaz itself is pretty, but hell is it expensive and when the sun goes down beyond the apres ski, the nightlife is fairly crappy.

I'll definitely be going back to powder my nuts off but I wouldn't ever stay in Avoriaz itself again, I'd personally stay in Morzine and just get the cable up..

 

User rating 8 out of 10

Wanna go back

Sat 2 February 2008 by Dan51

Recently got back after a week of checking out as much of the Portes du soleil as possible in 6 days. HUUUUGE area which if you get away from the main Avoriaz bowl isn't too crowded at all. Efficient lifts mean that getting as far away as Les Gets or deep into Swiss territory isn't a hassle. Reckon would be absolutely heaven after a dump but even after 10 days of no snow the terrain rode well. Lack of cars and spectacular architecture give the place a real unique futuristic/rustic charm too. Minus points? not the cheapest night out, quite a few chavvy UK louts about on the slopes and off piste still not as good as Chamonix. Saying that tho - quality place & will definitely be heading back at some point tho.

 

User rating 9 out of 10

Avoriaz Rocks

Sun 20 January 2008 by Matty6

Been all over the Alps and this place is deserved of its reputation. You'll get some foggy days but probably some powder too and thats what its all about! Great off piste, great parks and runs well laid out for boarding. The "Stash" is a freestyle run with all manner of natural hits. Not much night life but this resort is a must for any boarder. GO!!!

 

User rating 9 out of 10

Still coming back after 12 years

Tue 16 October 2007 by Jason

I first discovered Avoriaz on a Chalet Snowboard holiday back in 1995. 12 years later I'm still going back. I've been there on about 10 package holiday weeks, plus I did the season 06/07 and I'm doing the coming season 07/08.

The place is the nuts. After 12 years I have still not been to all the areas covered by the Porte du Soleil pass. She's a monster. Plenty of crowd free slopes to be found if you get out of the Avoriaz domain, plus all sorts of terrain. Good easy access off piste, plus even better off piste if you are prepared to hike a bit. Good parks, there are 2 in Avoriaz, plus they have put in some logs and stuff in the trees down the back toward Lindaret. Several more parks in the Porte du Soleil domain (Les Crosets is well maintained).

Always stayed down in Morzine rather than up in Avoriaz. Nice little town with the best cake shop in the world. Plenty of restaurants (mostly cheese and meat based). Lots of bars but beer is pricey. The Sherpa (was the Jolly Good Bar) on Rue de la Plagne heading out of town is my fave (the one with the starwars loo). Cinema also shows English films in the season.

Wife and I got a 65 square meter furnished apartment on the outskirts of town for 5500 euros inc all bills for the 5 month season. Trust me that's a lot of space at a very good price for a popular resort.

Couple of small supermarkets in town (Champion and Shoppi), both have everything you need. There is a larger Champion 5 mins drive out of town towards Thonon. You can get petrol there much cheaper than in town. Head all the way down to Thonon Les Bains for a massive Carrefour hypermarket with everything you could ever want including TVs, Toasters etc. Couple of launderettes in town. We used the one by Champion which was 5.90 euro a load (drying extra).

06/07 Porte Du Soleil season pass (you will want the full pass) was 570 euro but you will only get this rate if you are renting an apartment and can take along some documentation to prove it. If you are staying in a seasonaire chalet I don't think you get this rate (but I could be wrong). Also for 50 euro extra, get a carte neige. Where ever you break your leg, this will get you to the bottom of the mountain, although you or your insurance will then have to pay for hospital costs. But it does avoid the 1000 euro a minute helicopter bills when you break your leg off piste (which your insurance won't cover).

 

User rating 9 out of 10

Loved it!

Sun 29 January 2006 by Iain

Avoriaz is far more of a French town than some of the other concrete-clad purpose-built resorts. The WSG review of nightlife was harsh, The Place had some groovy Danish band, Le Tavalion was good for a laugh. The resort is traffic-free and so its only the horses you have to avoid. The conditions were great and Switzerland is just a blue run away. All round a top resort.

User rating 8 out of 10

Avoriaz you wont get board but stay in morzine

Tue 15 November 2005 by cousin

i Stayed the season of 2004 in morzine/avoriaz nov-apr and i can honestly say with only 12days in total where i didnt head up the mountain, i didnt once say im bored and i still dont think i saw it all. town wise avoriaz has nothing apart from a big cloud most of the time, but morzine has it all. get to know the shop misty fly the lads in there will look after you.

User rating 9 out of 10

marko

Wed 28 September 2005 by mark40

Massive area,short transfer from airport.efficient lift system,off piste excellent. Bars/clubs ok - All round resort couldnt fault it.

User rating 3 out of 10

A dump

Wed 26 November 2003 by Doyster

Massive area yes, but big crowds, plenty of nobs, same old terrain, the usual. Don't bother.

Resort Information

Advertisement