Saalbach - Hinterglem

User rating 8 out of 10

Go Again

Wed 26 March 2008 by Paddy

Great resort, good social life and great variation of terrain. Only downside is they do not seem to bother too much with piste maintenance so when on piste be preapred for some thigh burn. Loved the fact that there are so many runs (on and off piste) to chose from and with no real queues to mention. Yep the music is cheesy Euro trash but hey welcome to apres. Group was mixed skiers and boarders and of mixed abilities but this palce has something for everybody. Will be booking again as still loads of mountain to cover that just did not get time to do this trip

 

User rating 10 out of 10

Saalbach Hinterglemm, Pension Talheim

Fri 1 February 2008 by Hannes

Yes, Saalbach Hinterglemm is very nice! We stayed at Pension Talheim http://www.talheim.at a cosy little Hotel at the skilifts! The slopes were wonderful, in january 2008!

 

User rating 7 out of 10

Saalbach-Hinterglem

Tue 11 January 2005 by poostache

After a new year (beer) trip, I was a little surprised how much snow we had and one of the best powder days I've had so far:) Some very nice tree runs & most of the time quite a low queuing time.

As an intermediate, if you have strayed over to Leogang or the far reaches of Hinterglem then watch your time, it can take a long time to get back to Saalbach. Due to the available terrain this is awesome, but in order to do this you need to traverse a number of very flat blues:(

I think the snowparks in Leogang & Hinterglem leave something to be desired, especially for beginners/intermediates, but at least there's something.

Forget the Black 14....

The apres was typically Austrian and therefore fantastic, friendly & drunken. As mentioned by others hit the Hinterhagalm at the top of the beginners T bar in Saalbach. Live band pumping out all the classics, dancing on tables, an awesome view at sunset & you have to board back to the bottom (to an umbrella bar!) in the dark whilst warm & wobbly! Slightly expensive, but who cares, you're on holiday!

And get to the top - there are some wonderful views.

Overall very good for all abilities & excellent if you like to take a beer :)

User rating 8 out of 10

Sehr Schon und Lekker Fraus

Tue 11 January 2005 by Woody1

What can I say!? A fab place which amazingly gets lots of snow for a relatively low resort. Apparently this is due to it being at the end of a valley.

Some great trees runs are possible and there is a massive area of powder to shred after a dump, just check your route from the lifts.

The apres ski has to be seen to be believed. I have stayed in both Hinterglemm and Saalbach, both of which are rocking from 4pm until 5am. Check out The London Bar, Apresskiworld and The Goat House in Hinterglemm. When in Saalbach be sure to visit The Hinterhagalm (look on the piste map), The Bauer Alm, the Tower Bar, Castellos and Arena. Some great drinking and partying can be had at all of those places, and the locals are really friendly and chilled.

I was gutted to leave, but hope to return soon. Ich liebe Tyrol.

User rating 8 out of 10

Saalbach: Packs your bags now and just go!!

Tue 11 January 2005 by The Master

With snow (as it is low) this is an awesome resort. Some much mountain for all levels of rider except for those wanting shed loads of black runs. Loads of off-piste with trees.

Apres ski just phenominal. In Saalbach go to bar with the live band above the T bar on the beginners slopes...you won't leave but for all those battys who like space and air-con forget it. Also the Goassstall in Hinterglem is brilliant...look out for the live goats in the restaurant oh and the stunning barmaid!

This resort is huge fun (quite family but with lively nightclubs), with loads of mountain, easy to get around reasonably priced £3.50 for a large beer. If you get bored Kaprun and Zell am See might offer some alternative 30mins on the bus away.

User rating 9 out of 10

complete carnage

Thu 23 December 2004 by rude-dog

me and my cousin did a few weeks in saalbach - hinterglem last year and we had one the best boarding holidays ever. we found the resort to be perfect due to having a good selection of bars, resturants, strip clubs, shops etc.

the mountain is pretty good, offering loads of good runs between the two resorts and a great free bus service to get you about. with a nice new up to date lift system to get you up there quickly

shopping, eating out and drinking was cool and stuff was fairly priced. we had a few real crazy nights on the beer and both resorts seemed to have plenty going on every night

be sure to check out the goathouse. the only bar ive ever been in with goats and strippers all over the place! crazy (you read it right)

a great resort well worth a visit.

User rating 9 out of 10

pleasant indeed

Tue 13 January 2004 by snibsy

stopped in saalbach 2 seasons ago nice town, many varied runs, lovely people, lager £1.70 in our hotel (£2 in bars) - what else can i say!!!!!